Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

What selection of Apps for a total beginner?

Comments

• You have some good apps to get some basic music going. I would say get some more synth / keyboard / instrument type apps. Apps you will play over what you generate / record in the other apps :)

• edited May 2017

You can record into Garage band using InterApp Audio (IAA). "Most" programs support Audiobus and IAA.

If you don't want to you can record into Audioshare. I would suggest AUM (super minimal but good - great for recording phrases or loops) or MultiTrack DAW for more arranging flexibility. IF you want to go whole hog most swear by Cubasis or Auria.

As an alternative you can record performances into a looper (or copy paste) or Launchpad and then switch loops as you compose sections of your song right into Audioshare. You won't get any FX sends EQ or panning on individual tracks this way. Great for live performance though.

• let me amend my statement: you can get EQ FX and panning by using Audioshare's slots as you record/play back from it as well. It's just a little clunky and only "one track" no arranging and nothing in the way of automation.
  • @telecharge said:

@jwmmakerofmusic said:
    For a beginner's beatmaking tool, I can't recommend Beathawk enough. It's very simple, straight-forward...