Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

AUM / Audioshare file storage and backups

Hi all,

Just joined the forum, but I've been messing around with the iPad music apps for a few years now. It was never the centerpiece of my music making setup, but with the new speedy processors it seems to me that AUM plus a bunch of AUv3 synths and effects can act as a powerful dawless setup on its own.

So, before I start transferring gigabytes of samples from my computer I want to properly understand how AUM and Audioshare manage disk space (and backups). My understanding of the workflow is that I first transfer the files into Audioshare and then these get stored under the "Audioshare files" tab in the files app. When I load any of these files into AUM's file player, they are just referenced and not copied into AUM's own folder. Similarly, if I "record" an AUM session, the audio file is placed under Audioshare and not AUM. Do I have it right so far?

Now, what happens if another app, say Koala or Patterning, imports a piece of audio from Audioshare. Are the files copied or just referenced?

This leads me into the second question, which is about backups. If Audioshare is the so-called container for all audio files on my iPad, then I could backup my sample library from there and be done. If not, all other apps would need to be backed up separately. How do you guys deal with backups in practice?