Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Best audio interface for loopback

I am new to iOS music (and new to anything beyond noodling, to be honest), and given the genres I’m familiar with, I really want to be able to use some GarageBand instruments. They actually seem pretty great. But it also seems obvious that I’d want to use those instruments in contexts beyond GarageBand, which seems like a bit of a walled garden.

1. Beyond exporting individual parts as audio files and reimporting them into something else, could I use a loopback-capable audio interface to play GarageBand instruments and Live Loops into something like AUM?

2. What’s a reasonably priced interface with loopback, that can also be powered from my iPad Pro’s USB-C port, that’d have the kind of low latency that would allow me to, say, play a GarageBand instrument or modelled amp live alongside, say, a groovebox type of app, and then record that? (I don’t care too much about sending MIDI out of GarageBand, just audio.) I’ve heard you can send the analogue outputs of a Behringer 204HD back into the unit, which performs some kind of DA/AD loop, but is the latency low enough? I was attracted to the EVO 4, which apparently does loopback purely in digital, but haven’t heard any success stories for iOS. Documentation of iOS compatibility seems like a bit of a black hole for audio interfaces.