Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Pause in music when switching apps?

Hi, I started another thread with some basic questions, as I am new to iOS music recording using audio interfaces and keyboards (I’ve only just used GarageBand on my phone with my thumbs). Now, I’ve got my guitar and novation keyboard plugged in and making good music, but I’m wondering…

how can I switch between apps without laggy pauses in the music? For example, if I get a drumbeat going in GarageBand and then switch over to Ampify’s Groovebox to play keyboards, the music glitches and stops for a split second until Groovebox pulls up on the screen. Even between two Ampify apps (Groovebox and Blocs Wave) it does that too.

Note:

• for now, I am using my iPhone X. I haven’t got a brand new clean iPad to try this on. Maybe my phone is slowing it down, even though it is a new phone?
  • I also haven’t bought or installed audio bus. Part of my reason for posting this here is… I’m wondering whether I need that to be able to switch back-and-forth between musical instrument apps and recording/looping apps without any lag or pause.

Comments

• Best way is to avoid using multiple standalone apps and use Audio Unit plugins inside a host instead. That way you don’t have to juggle with multiple apps.

• edited April 2020