Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Best vocal set up for the iOS?

I am a writer/vocalist who has been able to distract himself for the longest time with the music apps now available but need to FINALLY bite the bullet and get back to recording some words on all these pieces of tunes I have in the hopper.

I have a mic I'm comfortable with and have used to plug into BM2/Auria/Audioshare etc, but I can't help wondering what forum members find the 'best practice' is for recording direct vocals?

What do you start out into for preference? Do you go through AB or direct? Favorite/preferred reverb/filter/effects?

Much as I like screwing with vocals on the other end I'm really trying to get the benefit of your wisdom/experience as regards simply recording the best sound at the sharp end.

All and any thoughts, great or small, very welcome.

JG

Comments

• Direct/dry unless there's a particular effect I'm certain I want up front. I used to track through a hardware compressor but I don't bother anymore (mostly because of logistics). AB is going to add latency and a higher chance of crashing (even slightly). Unless it's required, why risk a great take?