Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Beginners DAW

Hi All,

I’m just getting into making music on my iPad and was wondering if you could recommend a decent DAW for a beginner? I don’t want to spend mega bucks on something massive but want to be able to capture different tracks and process them. As I said, I’m a bit of a beginner so any help and advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Comments

• Beatmaker 2 all day long....

• GarageBand for iOS is really, really easy to use, and pretty intuitive so you can figure most of it out just by playing around for an hour. If you need help there are tons of YouTube videos and tutorials available. The built-in sounds and instruments are fantastic and very flexible - you can spend endless hours tweaking the keyboard and synthesizer effects, for instance. It does all the basic DAW functions like multitrack recording, MIDI input (for an external controller if you have one), piano roll for note editing, basic audio effects like compressor and reverb, and can export & share tracks. It's also Audiobus compatbile now, as an output target at least.

For $5 you can't go wrong. The biggest limitation is that you only have 8 tracks to work with, but you can merge tracks together once you have them recorded & set the way you like to free up more track space. Honestly you can do quite a lot with it.

• edited March 2013