Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Audio Vs MIDI recording - newbie question

So I’m relatively new to iOS recording and one thing that confuses me is the fact that most software instruments can record as both MIDI and audio. I fully understand the difference between the two, and the editing possibilities of MIDI vs audio, but the last time I was recording regularly the lines between MIDI and Audio were much clearer: if the sound was generated by the computer/soundcard it was MIDI, anything else was audio.

Besides the different editing possibilities and the opportunity to sample audio, what are the main reasons for recording an AU instrument as MIDI or audio?
Is there much difference in CPU use?

Comments

• There are some differences for CPU and storage...
    If you record as MIDI then when playing back the CPU is needed by the AU to generate the audio from the MIDI, the synth engine will need to be running to do this.
    If you record as audio then the CPU is only required for the actual audio playback, most of which is needed whether playing back MIDI or Audio, so in general terms audio playback is lighter on CPU than MIDI playback....