Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Can AudioBus route many-to-many?

I'm new to AB and new to iPad music. I'm designing my setup for live performance, and can't see how to make it so that 3 or 4 sources can each be routed to three different loopers, with the ability to switch the routing on the fly with a MIDI CC. Because apps like Ostinator and Thumbjam are apps, not AUs, AB won't let me use multiple instances (with main in/outs). I frankly haven't yet sussed out the reasoning and rules of what apps will work where in the three-step channels so I'm going by trial and error at this point.

Question: is there any way to do branching and/or sub- mixing to set up many-to-many routings? I don't see it, and I couldn't find mention of it anywhere in this forum.

Or do I need to go to AUM, which claims it can do this kind of routing?

Everything I do is for live performance--I'm a one-man band and rely heavily on loopers to build up my electro-symphonic sound. The whole reason I'm migrating to iPad loopers is because my hardware loopers (Infinity, Boomerang) don't give me the refined features hat looper apps do, and I want to incorporate three or four different ones for different musical ends.

Thanks,

Steve
ThinAirX.com

Comments