Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Midi sync

Iam trying to run my digitakt to sequence with ios, any tips on how to get the tightest sync ? It feels like ive tried everything, appoholic as i am i have plenty of apps so i went trough syncing woth linktomidi, aum, audiobus, loopy,

Should i have my external gear as master or slave ?

All tips are welcome

Comments

• Are you using Link ? If so then having the externals as slaves is probably best....the MIDI sync in latest AB should do the job, it is based on what loopy uses so should be as tight if not tighter than that.
    In general terms you should try and use the most stable clock you have....although other factors may come into play....if you want to use transport controls on the external device for example would mean using the clock on that device.

• edited May 2019

I would use Digitakt as master and iPad as slave, simply for the convenience of being able to use the hardware transport controls.
    Groove Rider works perfectly as a MIDI Clock slave, Korg Gadget works well too, and if you want a pattern-based MIDI sequencer that follows MIDI Clock, try Genome Midi sequencer.
    Sugar Bytes Thesys is another option if you like to go wild with more experimental sequencing, and now that it can host an AU it's even more fun :smiley: