Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Analogue Tape Tricks?

After Klevgrand launched the DAW Cassette app, I started playing around with various apps to get a little more control and tape-like sounds. I've been combining some settings in AD Grind, without the wavetable, and using the Soft Saturation algo, etc. Add to that, AD Quatro Mod. There's a preset for the diffuser part that creates a nice wobbling sound. You can also get a nice wobbling sound with built-in tape saturation with italizer, with the mix turned up to 100% and no feedback. Then add Tap Delay for some exaggerated wow/flutter and tape hiss. AD RoughRider2 can soften up the edges. Master Record on top of that if you haven't damaged it enough. (I'd love for Master Record to go AUv3)

These combos give me about all the control over the sound that I want... but DAW Cassette gets specifically to the authentic sound a bit quicker I think. So, it's worth it if you don't already have all of the apps I'm using.