Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Reflections about a MIDI workflow

tjatja
edited June 2017 in App Tips and Tricks

I am new to music on iOS and even music in general.
Based on the recommendations from this forum, i started with KORG Gadget.
Now, i have many more Apps, Synthesizer, DAWs, Instruments, Sequencer, etc.

More and more, i gravitate to a MIDI workflow:

1) I want to play things with an (virtual) instrument and record it as MIDI.
2) I want to create steps in a sequencer and save it as MIDI.

Then, i want to edit and play around with that MIDI, in a sequencer, in a DAW.
Finally, i want to create my Audio, mix and master it.

Now let´s go back to Gadget and all those Synths:

In such a workflow, i would need to use Gadget as IAA in my DAW, or feed it MIDI and record it's Audio to finally render Audio tracks.
But Gadget can only be started once, as any IAA Apps that is not AU-capable.
The same goes for any other Synth ...
Also, Gadget is not timeline oriented like a DAW, which makes it difficult to exchange MIDI tracks between them.

So, it seems that I need to

1) do things track by track, or
2) with as much different Synths i can use, or
3) directly drop any and all of those Synths incl. Gadget and just use a DAW with it´s internal sound and any AU that i have.

This last approach seems to be much more easy and fast.
I only now start to realize this.