Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

LFO assignments via MIDI

I'm a relative noob to complex MIDI setups. I make music exclusively on the iPhone mostly using AB and/or AUM to connect various apps. I usually use a combination of Xynthesizer, DotMelody, and Aleph Looper to sequence synths. A few things I've found frustrating about creating music on the iPhone are:

• Inability to start/stop apps with their own play button with AB's/AUM's play/record button. I feel like I must be missing something pretty obvious here, but it seems like it should be a simple matter to start all of these apps at once. Right now I am basically working around this (in AUM) by hitting record, starting them all as quickly as possible by double-tapping the home button to switch apps, and just fading into tracks if it sounds crappy. I know Audiobus Remote would make this less painful, but I use Audiobus less these days and only have one iOS device anyway.