Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

I’m an idiot… Overdubbing in AUM

I’ve been using AUM more or less every day for the last 3 years but have only just realised that one of the ways I’ve been using it is bonkers…
A lot of my pieces are done in one take but if I need more than one recording overdubbed on another e.g. a solo overdubbed on top of a backing track then I…

1) Record an audio track (I don’t do midi) in an AUM session
2) Create another AUM session and arm a file player with the recording (backing track) I’ve just done
3) Play the backing track and record the next audio track (the solo) as either a separate recording or overdubbed on the original
4) Repeat 2 and 3 as many times as I need
5) Do a final mix if required from all of the accumulated recordings

All of this works fine but… if I have say a 10 minute backing track and want to add a solo starting at about 9 minutes, I have been sitting there like a dummy for 9 minutes only to then start playing, cock up the first note of the solo, abandon the recording, start again, wait 9 minutes etc etc. and believe me I cock up a lot! I can’t imagine how much time I’ve just sat there waiting to start playing 🥲

So I realised a couple of weeks ago what I should have been doing is (assuming we’re at 120 bpm)…