Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Mapping velocity to AUv3 parameter in AUM?

I'm new to iPad music, so forgive me if this question is basic. I just picked up AUM earlier this week.

Some of the sequencers I'm using – like Patterning 2 and SnakeBud – make it easy to configure the velocity of each note. But I run into trouble when I try to map the velocity onto the audio sources I'm using. I can't figure it out.

Does AUM offer a way to map velocity to particular AUv3 parameters?

The options AUM provides for mapping MIDI CC are impressive. But I can't figure out how to do the same for velocity. I don't know what I'm missing. Is velocity typically sent over a particular MIDI CC that I'm unaware of? Or is there perhaps a way to map velocity to MIDI CC, and then map that MIDI CC message to a parameter like filter cutoff?

Any help is appreciated!

Comments

• Hi @aaa . The problem is that velocity is part of every note on and off message. Normally it affects the synth volume of that specific note. The problem with trying to convert it to a CC is that CCs apply to all notes, so which velocity would you choose? In a modular system like Drambo, you can use the velocity in each voice (note) to control parameters in that voice, including filter cutoff. Conventional synths may allow this via their Modulation Matrix; some offer extremely powerful options.