Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Is Swift enough for developing MIDI-based app?

I know similar questions have been asked before. But I was wondering about some specifics and the current state of Swift.

I'm not a programmer, I have some basic experience with Python and Haskell. I have some ideas for a MIDI-centric app — as any sort of musical live coding is impossible right now on iOS I'd like to create something that's close to live coding at least in spirit and flow. An interface for applying 'functions' to outcoming midi-messages. I really like to write my music sometimes and not point&click it :D It'll still be touch-based and not code-based, but visually more text-centric.

Is Swift enough for something like that? Should I also learn Obj-C (is it worth learning it at all at this point)? C? Or just immerse myself in C++?

Comments

• It’s a good question.

• You may just try out yourself... write a small app that emits midi notes in a fixed sequence, featuring 2 controls: startpoint and time between notes.
    Play an audio loop or a metronome in another app.
    Adjust your app’s midi notes, so they exactly hit the background beat.

Now do whatever comes to mind on your iPad and listen to your sequence... do your notes run off the audio-grid, do they drift or remain stable ?