Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Please give me the name of a songwriter you admire.

I've been thinking about this song-writing business a lot lately. Not the commerce of it, but the craft. As a relative novice I've been revisiting bands/songs I like and studying their work again from a more analytical angle ("What are they doing there? "Why did they do that?"). More often than not I've come away with my admiration increased, at least in regard to some aspect or another.

So, please help a keen student out. Without concern for genre or age, tell me the name of a songwriter you admire. Just one. I'm not asking necessarily for your favorite or the best (what is that anyway?). Just someone who's work you consider top notch, admirable, front rank etc.

Thanks.

Comments

• Nick Cave.

• I think the guys in Sigur Ros are on another planet, their music is as close as I get to 'spirituality' since I stopped taking hallucinogens. Untitled #8 (and Kveikur almost as much) sounds like the end of the world to me. I kind of go overboard though because a lot of times they make me want to quit, I aspire to the level/headspace they're at & that's a long ways off.

• Elliot Smith

• This suggestion isn't a close fit for this particular forum, but it's still brilliant songwriting.

Before the Leaving. Alela Diane. The studio version, although the live one is great too.