Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Capture notes of a chord and sort

Hi, everyone. I'm new to Mozaic, and I hope some of you can help me.

Here's what I want to do: When a user plays a chord (2, 3, 4, 5 or more notes), how can I capture all the MIDI note numbers so that I can perform a function on each of the notes? Is there a way to put the notes into an array, or ???

Also, is there any way to sort the notes (by MIDI number) in Mozaic?

I'll very much appreciate any help you can give! Thanks!

Comments

• Hi. Yes there is. The tricky part is the first bit. Mozaic is event-based, so it runs once for each event, like Note On. So "play a chord" is not a fundamental concept. You'll need to detect when notes are played relatively close together to identify them as a chord.

One way to get the notes in numerical order would be to create an array, clear positions 0 to 127 (there's a function), store a flag in the position of each note number, then scan the array for non-zero entries.

You should take a look at the patchstorage Mozaic for relevant scripts already written. For example, MULTI-DIVISI by @_ki includes chord detection and a whole lot more.

• I took a run at making a MIDI recorder app and here's what I learned:

I use an index that is incremented as each note comes in. This index then is used to store NOTE data in (but all MIDI types could also be saved):

Channel = [0]