Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

iPad music realization

So I’ve been dabbling in iOS music making for a few years. I come from a background of live looping with hardware like Boss/Elektron and software(Ableton). It wasn’t until I started working in Loopy Pro that I’m now starting to see the bigger picture of this platform. It’s sort of a modular system isn’t it? I just didn’t put two and two together until I started connecting other apps inside Loopy Pro. Seems it should have been obvious but I just always worked in apps stand-alone before this. So now my head is pretty much exploding with ideas and I see my whole mindset needs to change. Coming from Ableton I’m used to combining stems with live loops but now I think stems aren’t really necessary. I can just host whatever apps I make music in right in Loopy Pro and seamlessly combine those projects with live looped material. No need to go to the trouble of making stems. It’s a dynamic environment instead of static. Anyway this is probably old news to most of you but wanted to share my new perspective.

Comments

• Yep. There are no real one-music-app-does-it-all solutions on iOS like there are on PC/Mac. But, that's what makes iOS a dynamic environment as you said. :)

• @joshelliott said:
    Anyway this is probably old news to most of you but wanted to share my new perspective.

Please don't tell just anybody about it.