Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Random MacOS questions from a Windows user

1131415161719»

Comments

  • edited April 2023
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • This little "story" is probably right up your alley...

    So I wanted to encrypt my Mac Mini's hard disk.

    Researched a bit and came to the conclusion that "FileVault" (a built-in MacOS feature) is the way to go if you want to encrypt the boot drive.

    So went to System Preferences, Security, FileVault and clicked "Turn On FileVault". Easy enough. It started encrypting the disk right away while I was still able to use the system (good).

    I then quickly realized that this is infeasible, as the Mac is headless and to enter the FileVault (login) password, you need to physically connect a keyboard and monitor.

    So, wanted to stop the encryption process.

    NOT POSSIBLE! I had to wait 12 hours for it to complete before I could revert the encryption.

    This doesn't make a lot of sense -- I mean, the encryption seems to be per-file anyway (as otherwise I wouldn't be able to continue using the system with a half-encrypted drive), so it would probably be trivial at the system level to abort the encryption process at any time. There's just no UI for it.

    Anyway, after encryption completed, I saw the biggest blunder: MacOS failed to update the "Turn On/Off FileVault" button. It originally said "Turn On FileVault", then after encryption finished, "Turn Off FileVault", which I pressed. But: After decryption finished as well, it didn't update again to "Turn On FileVault". So, I almost ended up encrypting my disk again (another 12 hours would've been added to the already 24 hours!) because of the wrong button label.

    Oh well. Not that well implemented!

  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • @tja said:
    I use this feature as well, but not head-less of course.

    I don't really trust APFS ....
    Additionally, I use VeraCrypt for external disks and Cryptomator for Cloud storage.

    Yeah I should've thought of the headless problem before encrypting the disk, but my brain isn't in the best working order recently 😄

    I'm now using an encrypted, mounted APFS disk image (can be created via Disk Utility) as an "encrypted folder" instead (I don't need the OS itself to be encrypted), and on Linux I use LUKS.

  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • Did you check if they maybe just use a standard POSIX mechanism for storing the "Full name"? I seem to remember there is something like that and you should then be able to change it by editing /etc/passwd or something, but I may be completely off. No surprise given the constant stream of cars and tractors on the road next to my house 😂

  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • @tja said:

    @SevenSystems said:
    Did you check if they maybe just use a standard POSIX mechanism for storing the "Full name"? I seem to remember there is something like that and you should then be able to change it by editing /etc/passwd or something, but I may be completely off. No surprise given the constant stream of cars and tractors on the road next to my house 😂

    The users do not get stored in /etc/passwd ... of course I checked :-)
    There are only system users contained, lots and lots of them.

    Thanks for the idea!

    Hah, just checked and that's indeed the case. Crazy.

    Have you checked this "Open Directory" thing?

  • The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • edited August 2023
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • edited August 2023
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
Sign In or Register to comment.