Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

How Long Before Jedi Status?

So I’ve been learning iOS production for a few months. Always been a writer but didn’t play any instruments growing up. Did read a bit on music theory a few years ago and have a very good sense of rhythm from bboying my whole life. Needed some beats for my lyrics so I decided to learn how to produce and iOS seemed like the best option based on convenience and price. I am often stunned by the depth of knowledge many of you on the forum possess. Sometimes I’ll jump into a thread and it might as well be written in Aramaic or Hieroglyphics. I want to learn how to automate a delay so I search the forum and find a thread where someone will inevitably start citing what sounds like high level string theory and quantum superposition as it relates to a reverb tail. I feel silly asking how much twisty to put on knob A so I tuck tail and go fiddle with stuff until I figure it out or convince myself the sound does not need automated delay. My question is, how long did it take you to achieve this depth of knowledge and level of mastery. For me, the hill seems insurmountable sometimes so I’m curious of the arch for some of the wizards on here.

Comments

• I’ve been at it for about 40 years, roughly, and still learning more every day.