Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Mastering your own music

Lots of interest in mastering here the last few days with Final Touch and other mastering apps getting released, thought some people might find this guide I wrote on mastering your own music helpful:

http://tarekith.com/assets/pdfs/Mastering.pdf

I'm a full-time mastering engineer as well, happy to answer any questions people might have. I have a broken hand at the moment and can only type with one hand, so please excuse any typos! :)

Comments

• Thanks! I will definitely take a look at that with the "Audio Mastering" app being updated and the new Positive Grid app on its way. Probably a bit pricey and over-my-head for a bedroom hack like me, but I'm already doing stuff on iPad I never thought I'd attempt!

• Thanks for sharing your knowledge, Tarekith. I've only scanned through the PDF and some of your website. This stood out:

"Let me say this again, in case you skipped over it. If you are writing and releasing your own songs, there is no reason to “master” them per se.

Everything you need to do to make a song sound polished and balanced can be done in the mixdown, and this is where you should focus 100% of all your attention."

I also noticed you use Ableton Live in your guides. Is that the software you favor for mixing? Any others?