Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Good book for the music theory illiterate

I have dabbled in music most of my life and have a rudimentary knowledge of music theory but mostly self taught and I have been wanting to learn more for quite a while. I was looking for an accessible book to music theory and stumbled upon this https://janthonyallen.com/ - Music Theory for Electronic Music Producers. I recommend it, especially if, like me, you find that reading notes on a stave makes your head spin. It illustrates the theory using the MIDI piano roll which removes that barrier. It’s helped me to fill in some holes, connect the dots and understand the basic things which I knew as abstractions but couldn’t really use.
I would also recommend this app - waay - for a clear explanation of the basics and practice with scales, circle of fifths etc https://apps.apple.com/es/app/waay-learn-music-theory/id974357313?l=en

Reading back over my post I realise I sound like a robot. I’m not! Fear not, humans!

Comments

• Thanks for the links. I’m okay with music theory, being a brass player, but using your ears and musical imagination can’t be beaten (i.e being able to play what you hear in your head). Good luck with your studies!

• He has a LOT of courses on Udemy, too.

Here’s a link for the full bundle of that course for $10.