Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Advice please - performance issues are driving me 🤪

FPCFPC
edited December 2019 in Support and Feedback

Hello

I'm still fairly new to ios music making and overall loving it.....

But I'm getting performance issues that are stopping me in my tracks.

Ipad 2018, Cubasis running a handful of AUs (Pure Acid x2, Kauldron, DRC, Primer, Ruismaker FM, Model D, NPD, Blackhole, Bleass sidekick + a couple of the Cubasis built-in effects ) and a little automation.

Other than just the CPU crackles I'm also getting a complete crash/freeze when I try just about anything: muting/unmuting or just changing a synth parameter.

I tied freezing some stuff but it didn't seem to buy me back any performance even when I deleted the original track altogether (obviously with any AU FX being used). Plus my workflow dictates that it's way too early to be freezing tracks as I haven't even tried making this into a song, it's still just a 4 bar loop.

Also tried adjusting Cubasis Hardware Latency (buffer?) to medium from low. Still rubbish.

I guess my question is, is a standard iPad just not powerful enough for this kind of use?

I can't afford a Pro so would an Air 3 (3gb of ram over my current 2gb) make enough of a performance gain?

Any ideas or help would be gratefully received.

Comments

• I would start with removing Model D and trying again

• @realdawei said: