Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

my experiences from 3 years of creating "non-typical" music with iPad

Hi, this will consist of general musings in regards to experimenting with music-making on iPad. I apologise for a potential lack of precision.

I've been using my iPad for about 3-4 years now for creating materials for songs and sound design. i've ran workshops on iOS music, followed up eagerly on latest developments and apps, and I feel I have an OK handle on the whole thing.

I'm on my second decade of professional audio work on DAWs such as Pro Tools and Ableton Live, and because those tools exist, I don’t want to imitate such workflow on an iPad. Instead, I’ve been drawn to apps and methods that help me try new ways of making sounds: Patterning, Samplr, Dhalang , Quantum, Apesoft apps, Sector etc. I prefer to use randomizing functions, granular tools, and cyclical and untypical structures instead of a rigid 4/4 sequence. For example, Quantum has many features for fun manipulation where you end up wondering what on earth is even happening. Usually I do things that rely on a pulse, but with layers of rhythms, melodies and textures that don’t quite correspond to a set grid, or the features of a given musical genre. For this, I’ve found the iPad to be invaluable.