Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Is there any way to block an app from receiving GLOBAL MIDI?

Basically the title. I have plenty of experience routing controllers with MidiFlow and AUM, but there are still apps out there that receive globally which is a big headache and basically ruins my painstakingly crafted mappings. How can developers not understand that music makers, especially those who want to make use of an app as a real musical instrument (for use in a live/improvisational setting) and not just a production tool, need for this to not be a thing! It's 2018. I'm looking at you, KORG ELECTRIBE WAVE.

The best case scenarios is when we can specify what channels and what hardware and virtual channels an app receives on. MIDI-Learn sometimes falls short of this. But, when you just throw Global Midi onto an app with a ton of assignable parameters, that is the worst case scenario. You're basically assuming a person (A) has a controller with 100+ knobs/pads and (B) isn't using your app alongside anything else. That's just not how iOS music-making works.