Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

looping/sequencing when playing the keyboard in aum or au3 apps

Hey, i just built up a AUM session with a few different au3 instruments and had a good groove going with sequencers in ruismaker nior and steppolyarp triggering moog, then at some point i started playing with the keyboard in aum to play the instruments by feel over the sequencers. It was nice but I couldn't figure out how to loop the instruments (or otherwise add them to the sequencers) when i manually played them with the keyboard.

What's the best/easiest way to loop it when i play the keyboard in aum or these au3 apps? Do any applications like ruismaker nior and steppolyarp have this function? Does AUM have any built in function for this? Or do i need to route to IAA or AU3 app? If so which? Or is it better/necessary to use a different host than AUM for this?

Comments

• If you are wanting to record loops in realtime and have them start playing back as you add them, Loopy, Audiobus 3 and AUM are a great combo. There was a recent thread that walks through setting it up.

• wimwim
    edited November 2018

@dan151, If you’re asking how to loop the midi, rather than audio, that’s a different story. Is that what you want to do, or is looping recorded audio what you’re after?

• edited December 2018

Thanks @espiegel123 and @wim!