Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

How do you train your brain to work in different time signatures?

This may be very basic for many of you accomplished musicians, but I’m a noob who’s stuck within his pop / rock youth comfort zone for far too long!

Any tips as I’m a venturing out of 4/4 land. 3/4 first port of call, any really groovy 3/4 tunes you guys can think of to let me feel the way they are getting their groove on?

I’ve knocked up some bass and percussion, but when I play over them, my brain is still looking for that 4/4. Is it just practice practice practice till the brain gets it, or do you peeps have any wonder training techniques that kick your brains into line?

Comments

• Programming patterns in drum machines and groove boxes that were capable of non-4/4 time sigs helped me a lot burning them into my brain :#

• Don’t feel the meter, feel the accents/subdivision. Basically lead with musicality and then it’s surprisingly easy.

• Thanks both of you. Sat here with some spoons trying to tap along to what I’ve just programmed In iBassist and Mid East Drummer with my looking on wondering what’s happening :p

• Have a listen to this - here’s how to rock 3/4.

• @Fruitbat1919 said:
    Thanks both of you. Sat here with some spoons trying to tap along to what I’ve just programmed In iBassist and Mid East Drummer with my looking on wondering what’s happening :p