Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Issue: Sound Distorted at Output (with all apps) ?!

Hey,

I am new to Audiobus and I really like it. There is one issue which prevents me from using it as intended however.

The sound arriving at any output app sounds noticeably distorted as soon as I add the output. I tried adjusting the levels of both the input and in the Audiobus 3 mixer and the sound is still distorted (even though they have plenty of headroom).

I recorded a screen capture video which shows the steps I go through:
1) normal sound when output is set to built in output
2) distortion begins as soon as recording app (Blocs Wave app) is added as output
3) attempt to adjust levels to avoid distortion
4) recording with distortion
5) playback of distorted recording

Link to screen capture (includes sound) and the recorded audio file:
http://drive.j28.us/temp/audiobus/ab-a.m4a
http://drive.j28.us/temp/audiobus/ab-v.MP4

I tried adding Loopy app as the output too (to make sure the issue is not in Blocs Wave app).

Could anyone provide insight on why this is?

Thanks!

Comments

• Could be a sample-rate mismatch, what iOS device and iOS version are you using?

Have you checked if there is a difference when using the headphone output?

• edited May 2018

iphone 7+
    ios 11.2.1