Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

questions about idam

I'm pretty new to iOS music and a recent thread here mentioned idam, which is interesting to me. I have an iPad Air 2, still on 10.3.3 (although I intend to update to 11) and Logic on a Macbook Air running Sierra. I also have an iphone 7 with iOS 11 on it. The daw I use on my iPad is AUM.
How do I enable idam? What would be a common use scenario? What are the benefits? Drawbacks?

A search didn't turn up any simple explanations, any insights are appreciated.

Comments

• first, you want to update to latest ios and macos to get latest IDAM support

then you enable IDAM by plugging ios device into mac, going to audio midi setup app on mac, then press enable

now you have a shared midi port and a stereo audio channel from ios to mac

you can use the ios device like a sound module, sending midi from logic and recording audio from ios. works great with or without AUM.

you can send midi from ios to mac too

you cant send audio from mac to ios

drawback would be that for me, i get some audio glitches. maybe some others do, some dont. still early days.

• edited November 2017