Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Advice - interface for iPad air 2

Hi all,

I'm new to the scene and the posts I've found about this are quite old. Therefore I'd appreciate some up to the minute advice:

I have an iPad Air 2 and would like to get a MIDI/Audio interface that powers/charges the iPad at the same time as using it. I can't imagine why anyone would want to run a session on battery power!

I've found items like the Focusrite and Aleisis units, but I'm not sure which is best.

Thanks,
James

Comments

• Get the Iconnectivity Iconnectaudio4+. It charges the iPad and gives you 4 ins/4 outs + 1 headphone out. It also has a midi in and and an out. It's smaller sibling the iconnectivity Iconnectaudio2+ has the same features as well but I don't own one so I cant comment on it. Mind you the advanced audio routing on these interfaces come with a learning curve that is a bit steep.

• Have a look at iConnectAudio4+ too which is great, but takes a little time to master all the routing possibilities.

• I prefer a capable unit that I have to learn, than a simple one with less potential.

How does the iConnectaudio4 charge the iPad? I saw that the Focusrite is a dock that you plug your iPad into. But the iConnect doesn't have this? Is it a lightening cable?

Thanks!

• edited September 2017

@jameslondon74 said: