Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

OT: Learning Subtractive Synthesis/Music Theory - Where To Start?

Hi everyone, I'm just getting into making music with my iPad and have chosen Korg Gadget as it has pretty much everything I need for now. That being said, as I am new to electronic music (making not listening) I wondered where to start first in terms of learning how to make it.

I guess a good place to start would be music theory and to learn scales, chords and generally how to play a keyboard but then I would also need to learn how a synth actually works. I also have a Korg MS 20 Mini and this is great for playing around with but if I'm being honest with myself I don't fully understand how it works or how to get a particular sound. I haven't tackled the patch bay aside from trying out other people's suggested patches but I don't understand how they work or why they change the sound when the cables are plugged in certain places.

I know the MS 20 Mini probably isn't the most beginner-friendly synthesizer to start with (I've read its layout is different than most other synths and can be confusing) but as I have it, I want to learn on it and take what I know to apply to Korg Gadget and anything else I use in the future.