Audiobus: Use your music apps together.

What is Audiobus?Audiobus is an award-winning music app for iPhone and iPad which lets you use your other music apps together. Chain effects on your favourite synth, run the output of apps or Audio Units into an app like GarageBand or Loopy, or select a different audio interface output for each app. Route MIDI between apps — drive a synth from a MIDI sequencer, or add an arpeggiator to your MIDI keyboard — or sync with your external MIDI gear. And control your entire setup from a MIDI controller.

Download on the App Store

Audiobus is the app that makes the rest of your setup better.

Distortion on GarageBand input

Hello, and thanks for all the helpful tips from this forum.

I posted the question below on the apple.com GarageBand forum a month ago and got no response.

I am a beginner for music recording with iPad but not a beginner for recording in general. I want to learn more about iOS recording. I have a third generation 16GB iPad. I have just begun experimenting with garageband at first and want to get a more sophisticated recording app eventually. To get started, i have been trying to record my Nord Electro keyboard into garageband using the Akai EIE interface recommended here.

It is (sort of) working and I had a question. I am just trying to record my Nord into GarageBand right now with no Audiobus. At first I got no sound coming out of the iPad monitor from the track I set up for recording, even though I could see the garageband VU meter move when I played. I messed around with it and finally got some very distorted sound ... but no clipping. It was a clangorous type of distortion that sounded kind of like a ring modulator effect. After a little more messing around, it finally worked and it sounded clean and OK. But there is some glitch that I can't figure out.