Guitar Interfaces
  • What would you say is the best guitar interface to use?

I've got an iRig that suited me just me fine as I only used it for practicing. Now that Audiobus has stolen all my spare time and probably ruined my girlfriends life I need to upgrade.

When I record with the iRig my audio bleeds onto the other tracks and its driving me crazy

• I'm only a novice when it comes to hardware (I'm a software guy!), but you'll find all analog devices like the iRig that plug into the headphone port suffer from those bleedthrough issues.

One popular digital device is the Apogee Jam, which plugs into the dock port.

• Yeah I think I may invest in Apogee. I actually knew about the bleed before I bought the iRig but I didn't mind too much as it was for practice and recording ideas but now with the sounds on JamUp being so good, the doors opened by Audibus and the quality of all my other apps its time for a change

• The peavey ampkit out performs its price. Definitely not as nice as dock connected interface but much better than the irig.

• Apogee jam is by far the best for professional recordings imo You will see a vast improvement in sound quality if upgrading from irig

• I've heard the griffin cable is much better than the iRig too. How is the crosstalk with the Peavey? I'm wondering if a headphone amplifier might be a workaround. Maybe not have as much bleed if I set my device really low and pump up the amp on my phones.

I've been reading up on Apogee Jam and watched some videos of it in action and it does seem very good. I think I'll write a letter to Santa

• The bleed isn't bad at all on the Peavey. It requires a battery which drives some sort of active circuitry magic to keep the crosstalk down. Might work similar to balanced audio where they're using the battery to flip the polarity of one of the signals to cancel the other out. Not sure but it works pretty well. I don't do a lot of high gain amp modelling though so...